Kdrama: The Fateful Final Episode

b9809e844f746d3368b5c010a1a8a332KDrama conclusions will forever be the death of me.

After watching an entire drama religiously (usually a span of about 3 days) I spend even more countless hours deliberating it. I realized that I don’t think I’ve ever felt fully satisfied with a conclusion. After watching the last episode of a drama, even after I read Dramabeans ending comments (I always use Dramabeans when watching a drama: I love reading analyses and plus I usually miss key points in the plot from the whole English translation thing), something always, and I mean always, feels unfinished. A drama just never ends the way I want or even expect it to.

The reason I’m saying this is because recently I made a mistake. I had just finished watching Rooftop Prince and I was left dissatisfied because even though I knew it was physically/logically/realistically impossible for the two leads to be together as Bak Ah and Yi Gak I still had hope that some way, somehow the writers would find some loophole and let them be. I analyzed it for hours. I even looked up other reactions to this drama’s ending and wrote my own analysis for myself so I could at least come up with some explanation for why the drama ended this way. I literally had to convince myself that the conclusion was rational and even now I’m not quite sure I did that. Anyway, as a whole this drama did have an effect on me emotionally and as always I was expecting to be satisfied with the ending because I had been satisfied throughout every other episode. But noooo.

I remember even waking up the next morning after I had finished it, it was actually the first thing that came to my mind. I was like “I can’t believe they are 300 years apart, that’s mind blowing… I can’t believe they just didn’t let them be together anyway… they were just so in love… imagine if you couldn’t be with the person you loved… I’m probably never going to fall in love… my life sucks…” and then it’s just downhill from there.

So to get my mind off love that can never-be I searched for a new drama to watch. One that was entertaining, bright, and bubbly with a good love story. One that had good looking Korean men in it. Somehow I stumbled across 49 Days.

Okay, I didn’t exactly stumble; I just searched for a drama that Jung Il Woo was in.

But, if you’ve seen this drama you’re probably laughing at me because although it was enlightening, it was far from bright and bubbly. The worst part is that I also hate all things depressing because it depresses me (my mood greatly depends on my surroundings). I tend to deviate from sad movies, tragic love stories, and tear jerkers in general. Needless to say 49 Days probably wasn’t the best choice drama to get rid of my own mind’s depressing conclusion to Rooftop Prince. (SPOILER ALERT REALLY DON’T READ THIS IF YOU PLAN ON WATCHING THE DRAMA: in the end she dies anyway. Like, are you serious?) It was bound to be sad from the very first episode. And even though it had warning signs and flashing red lights telling me to turn back, I was already too emotionally invested (as always). But how was I to know!? Girl has too much faith in dramas.

I think the reason I feel so dissatisfied most of the time, especially after watching 49 Days, is because I’m always rooting for the love story to play out because I’m such a huge advocate for love. If the love story ends with the couple that’s meant to be together, I’m satisfied. Unless of course it’s done sloppily or too fast OR there are a million loose ends that I’m still wondering about. But 49 Days wasn’t a love story anyway, which I had naïvely mistaken.

I understood the dramas message though and for all points and purposes it was very well done, but maybe those serious, “there’s actually a real message to this drama,” dramas are just a little too serious for me.

Or maybe I need to stay away from KDramas with fantasy embedded into them and stick to real life, that way there are no ghosts, souls, time travelers, or gumihos to get in the way of true love. Seriously.

So now in order to get over my current drama-depression, I don’t know which drama to watch next.

Note: I wrote this in about March and have yet to watch a kdrama since. Instead I’ve been watching the dramatic adventures of BtoB Diary. Aka not dramatic at all, but filled with so much cuteness from the lovely boys.

4 thoughts on “Kdrama: The Fateful Final Episode

  1. I read this and… yeah, kind of laughed — but I was saying “oh, dear Lord, noooo” while I did so — so I was also feeling your pain. And to make up for my laughing… here are some recs. 🙂

    If you’d like a love-story that’s intense but ultimately satisfying (and also has a time-traveling element, so it might clear out “Rooftop Prince” from your brain) I’d recommend “Queen Inhyun’s Man” So, so good.

    And if you’d like a little more comedy with your romance you might try “My Name is Kim Sam Soon” (or “My Lovely Sam Soon”).

    And if you’d like sweet and fluffy you could try “Mischievous Kiss: Love in Tokyo”. It’s a J-drama and it’s still airing (10 episodes out so far, of 16) but it’s a new version of the “Playful Kiss” story and it’s really, really lovely.

    Hope those fit! (I checked your list of drama’s seen — so hopefully these are new to you.)

    • Haha, that’s okay. Were you laughing at how pathetically emotionally invested I got into Rooftop Prince? You were probably thinking to yourself “of all the dramas why on earth Rooftop Prince”? Yeah, I have no idea why I liked it so much because the whole drama was kind of messy, but I think I just never got bored while watching it or something.

      Anyway, thanks for the recommendations. I actually planned on watching Mischievous Kiss eventually since I loved Playful Kiss so much lol. Also My Lovely Sam Soon has been on my to watch list for a while. We’ll see though, I seem to have been on a kpop kick lately.

      • No, I was laughing when you said your pick-me-up choice was “49 Days”. (Though I totally, totally, totally understand the pull of Jung Il-woo. ;)) Since I’d seen it I knew it wasn’t really the right drama for the job.

Leave a comment